Just In: Why Three House Of Assembly Members Resign In Ebonyi

Engr. David Nweze Umahi, the Executive Governor of Ebonyi State.
Kindly Share This Story

Just In: Why Three House Of Assembly Members Resign In Ebonyi

Three members of the Ebonyi State House of Assembly, have resigned their membership of the House.

The Speaker, Rt. Hon. Francis Ogbonna Nwifuru, on Tuesday March 15th 2022, received letters from three Members of the State Assembly, notifying the House of their resignation as Honourable Members of Ebonyi State House of Assembly.

According to the Chief Press Secretary (CPS), to the Speaker, Leo Ekene Oketa, the Members are: Hon. Mrs. Franca C. Okpo (Abakaliki South State Constituency), Hon. Ali Kizito Okechukwu (Ishielu North State Constituency) and Hon. Victor U. Aleke (Ebonyi North-West State Constituency).

READ MORE:  Abia North: Orji Kalu wins APC senatorial ticket

Reading the letters at the floor of the House during plenary, the Speaker revealed through the letters, that the three (3) Members resigned their seats after due consultations with their families, stakeholders and political associates.

According to their letters which were all dated November 15, 2021, their resignations would avail them ample time to pursue other endeavours in their lives.

READ MORE:  Breaking: Uncertainty in Ebonyi State as Commission, INEC, bans journalists from credential meetings in Ebonyi (Full Details)

Following the developments, the House accepted the letters as working documents and declared the seats of Abakaliki South, Ishielu North and Ebonyi North-West State Constituencies, vacant.

The Honourable Speaker directed the clerk of the House to notify the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) of the development, for further actions as specified by law.

The House has proceeded on a three months recess.


By Famous Reporters


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts

No widgets found. Go to Widget page and add the widget in Offcanvas Sidebar Widget Area.